standard font
larger font

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a group of distinguished scientists, engineers, industrialists and parliamentarians who are concerned about the health of British science. They do not meet on a regular basis, but from time to time the Director draws on their wide experience. The influential positions that they hold mean that they are well-placed to advise on all aspects of CaSE policy.
For news for and about members of the Council, see the latest Advisory Council Update


Prof Sir George Alberti PRCP: former President, Royal College of
Sir Geoffrey Allen FRS FREng: Kobe Steel International
Prof Struther Arnott CBE FRS: University of St Andrews
Sir Eric Ash CBE FRS FREng: Royal Society
Prof Vicki Bruce OBE FRSE: University of Edinburgh
Dr Simon Campbell FRS FRSC: Pfizer
Ms Jane Cannon MBE CEng: QinetiQ
Professor Roger Cashmore CMG FRS: Principal, Brasenose College
Prof Alec Cullen OBE FRS FREng: University of Oxford
Sir Brian Follet FRS: University College London
Dr Ian Gibson
Professor Diana Green CBE: formerly VC Sheffield Hallam University
Professor Wendy Hall CBE FREng: University of Southampton
Prof Antony Hewish FRS: Nobel Laureate:
Professor Dame Julia Higgins FRS: Imperial College, London
Prof Colin Humphreys FREng: University of Cambridge
Sir Tim Hunt FRS: Cancer Research UK
Prof Sir Aaron Klug OM FRS: MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Sir Hans Kornberg FRS: University of Cambridge
Sir Harold Kroto FRS: Nobel Laureate
Prof Joe Lamb FRSE: University of St Andrews
Lord Lewis of Newnham FRS: University of Cambridge
Prof Sir Christopher Llewellyn Smith FRS: University of Oxford
Prof Jacqui McGlade: European Environment Agency
Lord May of Oxford OM FRS: University of Oxford
Prof Robert Michell MRCVS: Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons
Professor Kim Nasmyth: University of Oxford
Sir Paul Nurse PRS: President, Royal Society
Dame Bridget Ogilvie FRS: Council for Science & Technology
Professor Linda Partridge CBE FRS FRSE: University College London
Prof Hugh Pennington FRCPath FRSE: University of Aberdeen
Prof Martyn Poliakoff FRS: University of Nottingham
Lord Rees of Ludlow FRS
Sir Derek Roberts FRS FREng : former Provost, UCL
Dr Gill Samuels CBE: Biotechnology Futures Forum
Baroness Sharp of Guildford: House of Lords
Dr Simon Singh: Writer and Broadcaster
Sir David Smith FRS: University of Oxford (retired)
Sir Richard Sykes FRS: Imperial College
Ian Taylor MBE MP: House of Commons
Prof Sir John Walker FRS: MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit
Sir Gregory Winter CBE FRS: Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Dr Ivan Yates CBE FREng: British Aerospace