CaSE is pleased to announce the appointment of new members to its Board of Directors.

The appointments took place at CaSE's 2018 Annual General Meeting, kindly hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry, and welcomed by CaSE's Chair, Professor Graeme Reid, and Executive Director, Dr Sarah Main.

The Board, chaired by Professor Reid, helps to set the strategic direction of CaSE and is responsible for the good governance and financial management of the organisation. The three new Board members are as follows:

David Parfrey

David Parfrey is Executive Chair for Anglia Innovation Partnership LLP (AIP LLP ), the LLP responsible for bringing the Norwich Research Park vision to life. He took up his role in March 2018 to oversee a period in which the partner organisations of the LLP are seeking to review the its achievements over the last 5 years and its strategy for the next 5 years, particularly in respect of the opportunities presented by the Government’s Industrial Strategy. David is also Chair of Leaf Expression Systems (a Norwich based spin-out from the John Innes Centre). He was previously Executive Director, Finance & Campus Operations for the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, a Director of the Babraham Research Campus management company BBT Ltd, the Aberystwyth Innovation Campus management company AIEC and the facilities company underpinning the new Norwich based Quadram Institute.

Professor Mark Price

Mark Price is Professor of Aeronautics and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Engineering and Physical Sciences at Queen’s University Belfast, a leadership role with responsibility for setting the future strategy for the full spectrum of basic science and engineering disciplines at Queen’s.  A Chartered Engineer he worked in the Aerospace and Software industries before turning to academia.  His research work is focused on bio-inspired design methods for manufacturing.  He is currently a member of the EPSRC Manufacturing the Future Strategic Advisory Team. 

Professor Lesley Yellowlees CBE

Lesley Yellowlees is an Inorganic Chemist with interests in renewable energy, public engagement of science and promoting women in science. Lesley was Head of the School of Chemistry and then Vice Principal and Head of the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Edinburgh, retiring in 2017. She was President of the Royal Society of Chemistry from 2012-14, their first woman president in 175 years. She was awarded an MBE in 2005 for services to science, a CBE for services to Chemistry in 2014 and elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh in 2012.

Also stepping down from the Board at this year's AGM were Stephen Curry, James Lawford Davies (Chair, Nominations & Appointments Committee), John Misselbrook (Treasurer), and Emily Shuckburgh, whose terms have all expired. We thank them for all their hard work over the years.

For a full list of our Board of Directors see here.

Return to comment