Skip to content

CaSE announces new Board and Advisory Council Members

23 Nov 2017

CaSE is delighted to announce the appointment of new members to its Board of Directors

The appointments took place at CaSE’s 2017 Annual General Meeting, hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry, and were welcomed by CaSE’s Chair, Professor Graeme Reid, and Executive Director, Dr Sarah Main.

The Board, chaired by Professor Reid, helps to set the strategic direction of CaSE and is responsible for the good governance and financial management of the organisation. The three new Board members are as follows:

Nicola Blackwood

Nicola is the former MP for Oxford West & Abingdon, Chair of the Commons Science and Technology Select Committee and Minister for Public Health and Innovation. As well as her leadership role in protecting the Science Ring fence and promoting increased spending on R&D, her portfolio has included mental health, public health, data, cybersecurity and global health security. She is now a Policy Fellow at Public and advisor to a number of innovation led start ups.

Jeremy Clayton

Jeremy was appointed Director of the Government Office for Science in 2003 and from 2011 became responsible for science funding and policy within the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, now the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy. His brief included EU and global science and innovation issues. He retired from the Civil Service in 2016 and is now a Council member at the University of East Anglia and a Governor of the Walcot Foundation (which seeks to boost life chances in Lambeth).

Rosemary Cook CBE

Rosemary is Chief Executive Officer of the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine. Rosemary’s background is in nursing, and she has also worked as a civil servant in the Department of Health, on nursing, primary care and R&D policy, and for the NHS Modernisation Agency, where she led the European Working Time Directive programme. She has been a charity sector CEO for 12 years.

Helen Swift

Helen is the UK Public Affairs Manager for Airbus’ Research, Technology & Innovation Portfolio across Airbus Commercial Aircraft, Defence and Space & Helicopters divisions. She is responsible for supporting the company’s £500m annual R&D investment programme, the development of Airbus’ advanced research facilities and securing long term funding lines which deliver critical technical innovations that grow UK aerospace and defence capabilities, helping the company to remain at the top of an extremely competitive world market. Helen has worked at Airbus for over a decade and has a degree in Public Relations from Bournemouth University.

Also stepping down from the Board at this year’s AGM were Aisling Burnand, Tom Crick, Becky Purvis, and Chris Tyler, whose terms have all expired. We thank them for all their hard work and support over the years.

For a full list of our Board of Directors see here.

Advisory Council

CaSE is also pleased to announce the refreshment of its Advisory Council, with new members joining the Council alongside those rejoining the new body.

The role of Advisory Council member does not require any formal meetings or duties but from time to time we may call on Council members for advice on specific issues. The appointment term runs for a fixed term of five years starting from our AGM in November. Members can serve for a second term by agreement, to a maximum of ten years.

The revised Advisory Council membership is as follows:

Professor Roger Cashmore, Chairman, UK Atomic Energy Authority
Professor Dame Athene Donald, Professor of Experimental Physics and Master of Churchill College, University of Cambridge
Professor Dame Julia Goodfellow, Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Kent
Professor Dame Wendy Hall, Regius Professor in Computer Science and Director of the Web Science Institute, University of Southampton
Dr Roger Highfield, Director of External Affairs, Science Museum Group
Professor Jacqueline McGlade, Professor of Environmental Informatics, University College London
Professor Denis Noble, Emeritus Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology, University of Oxford
Sir Paul Nurse, Director and Chief Executive, The Francis Crick Institute
Professor Sir Martyn Poliakoff    Research Professor of Chemistry, University of Nottingham
Lord Martin Rees of Ludlow, Astronomer Royal at Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge
Baroness Margaret Sharp of Guildford, Council of the Foundation of Science and Technology
Lord David Willetts, Chair of British Science Association, Visiting Professor at King’s College London and Executive Chair of the Resolution Foundation