Skip to content

Labour appoints new Shadow Science Minister

25 Sep 2015

CaSE responds to news that Yvonne Fovargue MP has been appointed as Labour’s Shadow Science Minister.

Ms Fovargue replaces the former Shadow Universities and Science Minister, Liam Byrne MP, with the universities brief now being split and given over to Gordon Marsden MP. Under Jeremy Corbyn’s first reshuffle last month, Ms Fovargue was appointed as Shadow Consumer Rights Minister, and we understand she will retain that brief alongside science.

Ms Fovargue was elected MP for Makerfield in 2010, and held a number of shadow positions under Ed Miliband, including the transport, education and defence briefs. Before entering Parliament, she worked as a Housing Officer and went on to become Chief Executive of St Helens Citizens Advice Bureau. She has degree in English from Leeds University.

Commenting on the appointment CaSE Policy Advisor Dr Martin Turner said:

“We’re pleased to welcome Yvonne Fovargue as the new shadow science minister. We hope to build a close and productive working relationship with Yvonne, as we had with her predecessor, Liam Byrne.

Yvonne has taken on the science brief at a critical time. The sector is rightly concerned about looming budget cuts and the potential reorganisation of the research councils. We hope she will be a strong voice in support of science and in opposing any changes that could damage the UK’s world-leading research base.

Yvonne’s role will have far-reaching consequences for all of Labour’s policy priorities; from boosting productivity to support real wage growth for workers, to tackling climate change and delivering better healthcare in the NHS. A strong science base will benefit all of society in every part of the UK.

Science and universities are closely intertwined in the UK. Yvonne and Gordon Marsden will need to work closely together to ensure joined-up policies that support both research and teaching in our universities. We look forward to working with both shadow ministers, and the wider BIS team.”